Top scientists, advances in analytical chemistry recognized

Each year, Pittcon provides a venue where scientists who have made outstanding contributions to analytical chemistry and applied spectroscopy are honored. This year, Pittcon will collaborate virtually March 8–12, 2021, and will feature 15 such awards presented to 17 distinguished scientists from throughout the world.

The Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award will be presented to Dr. Isao Noda of the University of Delaware. Dr. Noda was chosen based on his outstanding contribution in the advanced understanding and applications in the field of spectroscopy, his leadership in the scientific community, and his mentorship of young scientists. His research interest is in the broad area of polymer science and vibrational spectroscopy.

The Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award will be presented to Dr. Richard Yost of the University of Florida. Dr. Yost is widely recognized as a world leader in the field of mass spectrometry and analytical chemistry, most notably for his co-invention of the triple quadrapole mass spectrometer, which has revolutionized important measurements impacting human health and well-being in the fields of drug metabolism, pharmacokinetics, environmental studies, and biological analyses.

The Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award will be presented to Dr. Robbyn Anand of Iowa State University. Dr. Anand and her research group have developed methods for single-cell analysis, electrokinetic separations in complex media, and voltammetry at bipolar electrodes. She is also the founder of the Midwest Retreat for Diversity in Chemistry.

The Pittcon Heritage Award will be presented to Dr. Peter Hupe of Agilent Technologies (retired). Dr. Hupe founded Hupe-Busch, which eventually became the Agilent Technologies High Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC) Business. He is also being recognized for his technical and business contributions in the area of Preparative Gas Chromatography, his role in the founding of the respected HPLC Series of International Meetings, and his academic accomplishments as the Chair of Instrumental Analysis and Professor at the Free University of Amsterdam.

Pittcon 2021 will host sessions for three awards from the American Chemical Society (ACS) – the ACS Advances in Measurement Science Lectureship Awards, the ACS Analytical Division Satinder Ahuja Award for Young Investigators in Separation Science, and the ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry.

Pittcon 2021 will also host two award sessions each from the Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry (SEAC) and scientific publisher LCGC. These awards are, respectively, the SEAC Royce W. Murray Award and SEAC Charles N. Reilley Award, and the LCGC Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award and LCGC Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award.

Additional awards being presented are the Coblentz Society Williams-Wright Award, the Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley’s Dal Nogare Award, and the Ralph N. Adams Award.

Of special note is the Chinese American Chromatography Association (CACA) Award, which is celebrating its inaugural presentation at Pittcon 2021.

Information on the aforementioned awards may be found at Attendance at Pittcon 2021 and its associated award presentations is free to credentialed members of the press, who are invited to register at

Pittcon advances and enriches scientific endeavor by connecting scientists worldwide, facilitating the exchange of research and ideas, showcasing the latest in laboratory innovation, and funding science education and outreach.



Please use one of the following formats to cite this article in your essay, paper or report:

  • APA

    Pittcon. (2023, September 12). Top scientists, advances in analytical chemistry recognized. News-Medical. Retrieved on July 20, 2024 from

  • MLA

    Pittcon. "Top scientists, advances in analytical chemistry recognized". News-Medical. 20 July 2024. <>.

  • Chicago

    Pittcon. "Top scientists, advances in analytical chemistry recognized". News-Medical. (accessed July 20, 2024).

  • Harvard

    Pittcon. 2023. Top scientists, advances in analytical chemistry recognized. News-Medical, viewed 20 July 2024,


The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of News Medical.
Post a new comment

While we only use edited and approved content for Azthena answers, it may on occasions provide incorrect responses. Please confirm any data provided with the related suppliers or authors. We do not provide medical advice, if you search for medical information you must always consult a medical professional before acting on any information provided.

Your questions, but not your email details will be shared with OpenAI and retained for 30 days in accordance with their privacy principles.

Please do not ask questions that use sensitive or confidential information.

Read the full Terms & Conditions.

You might also like...
Exploring the World of RNA Chemistry