AACN to bestow 2013 Circle of Excellence Award on 25 nurses nationwide

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) will bestow the 2013 Circle of Excellence Award on 25 nurses nationwide at the National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition, Boston, May 18-23. (View recipient list.)

These outstanding caregivers from 16 states receive this coveted award for achieving excellent outcomes in the care of acutely and critically ill patients and their families.

Criteria used to evaluate the Circle of Excellence Award candidates include relentless promotion of patient-driven excellence; communication skills; true collaboration; effective decision making; meaningful recognition of others; ability to transform thinking, structures and processes; and ability to address challenges and remove barriers to excellent patient care and achieve visible results through leadership.

Recipients of the 2013 Circle of Excellence Awards from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) are as follows (listed in alphabetical order by state and last name):

Lynda Stoodley, MSN, NP-C, CCRN-CSC, PCCN
Cardiothoracic Surgery Nurse Practitioner, Torrance Memorial Medical Center, Torrance

Sheryl Hollyday, RN, MSN, FNP
Palliative Care Nurse Practitioner, St. Vincent's Multispecialty Group, Bridgeport

Mary Ciechanowski, RN, MSN, APN, ACNS-BC, CCRN
Stroke Advanced Practice Nurse, Christiana Care Health System, Newark

Critical Care Clinical Nurse Specialist, Northwest Community Hospital, Arlington Heights

Denise Kerley, RN, BSN, CNRN
Staff Nurse, Medical ICU, Indiana University Health, University Hospital, Indianapolis

Eileen Grunwald, RN, MS, NEA-BC
Nurse Manager, Baystate Medical Center, Springfield

Linda McGowan, RN, BSN, MS, NE-BC, CCRN
Nurse Manager, ICU, Winchester Hospital, Winchester

Cheryl Toole, RN, MS, CCRN
Nurse Director, Neonatal ICU, Boston Children's Hospital, Boston

Sue Sirianni, RN, DNP, ANP-BC, CCRN
Nurse Practitioner, Surgical Intensive Care, Sinai Grace Hospital, Detroit

New Jersey
Michele Zucconi, RN, MSN, CCRN
Administrative Director, Cardiac Care Center, Cardiac Catheterization and Interventional Radiology, Inspira Health Network, Vineland

North Carolina
Carol Rauen, RN, MS, CCNS, CCRN, PCCN, CEN
Clinical Nurse Specialist and Education Consultant, Outer Banks

Tracy Avolio Ricket, RN, MS, CCRN, NEA-BC
Nurse Manager, Cardiovascular ICU and ECMO Program, Levine Children's Hospital-Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte

Rhonda Fleischman, RN-BC, MSN, CNS, CCRN-CMC
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Clinical Educator, Coronary Care Unit, Aultman Hospital, Canton

Tina Greig, RN, BSN, CCRN
Nurse Manager, Medical ICU, University Hospitals Case Medical Center, Cleveland

Dianne Pearce, RN, BSN, CCRN
Nurse Manager, Cardiac ICU, University Hospitals Case Medical Center, Cleveland

Mary Spiering, RN-BC, MN, CNS
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Cardiology, Providence St. Vincent Medical Center, Portland

Eleanor (Elly) Fitzpatrick, RN, MS, CCRN, CRNP
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Surgical ICU and Intermediate ICU, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia

South Carolina
Janet Byrne, RN, MSN
Nurse Manager, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston

Beckie Church, RN, MSN, ACNP
Surgical Clinical Specialist, Lexington Medical Center, West Columbia

Cheryl Holderfield, RN, MSN, CCRN, CNRN, CNS
Nurse Manager, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston

John Whitcomb, RN, PhD, CCRN, FCCM
Assistant Professor of Nursing, Clemson University School of Nursing, Clemson

Steve Klahn, RN, MBA, BSN, CCRN-E
Tele-ICU Operations Director, Baptist Health System Vanguard, San Antonio

Shannon Lubin, RN, MS, CCRN
Rapid Response Nurse, Virginia Commonwealth University Health System, Richmond

Cindy Martin-Salinas, RN, BSN, CCRN-CSC
Clinical Educator, ICU and Cardiac Unit, Kadlec Regional Medical Center, Richland

Mary Jo Moore, RN, MA, CCRN, CNML
Nurse Manager, ICU/Rapid Response Team, Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center & Children's Hospital, Spokane

AACN's Circle of Excellence Awards align with the association's mission of creating a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution. Awardees receive a plaque and a $1,000 honorarium and become members of the Circle of Excellence Society.


American Association of Critical-Care Nurses


The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of News Medical.
Post a new comment
You might also like...
Acute illness increases cortisol levels in children and adolescents