Three Robert Wood Johnson members win Edward J. Ill Excellence in Medicine Awards

Three members of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School faculty have been named 2013 recipients of the prestigious Edward J. Ill Excellence in Medicine Awards®, highlighting their expertise as exceptional educators or researchers.

These honorees are:
Suhayl Dhib-Jalbut, MD, professor and chair, Department of Neurology, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, and chief, Neurology Service, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, who will receive the Outstanding Medical Research Scientist Award for Clinical Research. Dr. Dhib-Jalbut, a resident of Princeton, conducts research in the area of multiple sclerosis, funded by the National Institutes of Health and the National MS Society. He is currently president-elect of ACTRIMS, the Americas Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis, a prestigious international organization.
Smita S. Patel, PhD, professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, who will receive the Outstanding Medical Research Scientist Award for Basic Biomedical Research. Dr. Patel's recent research includes studies of helicase and polymerase enzymes in mitochondrial DNA replication and transcription, and in recognition of viruses for antiviral immune response. Dr. Patel lives in Whitehouse Station.
Carol A. Terregino, MD, senior associate dean for education (interim) and associate dean for admissions and student affairs at Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, who will receive the Outstanding Medical Educator Award. A Cranford native who currently lives in Mt. Laurel, Dr. Terregino also serves as the senior associate dean for admissions (interim) for the Camden regional campus.

2013 marks the fifth consecutive year in which Robert Wood Johnson Medical School faculty members will be honored for their work as medical research scientists.

Named for a New Jersey physician who pioneered the promotion of continuing education in ways that set the national standard, the Edward J. Ill Excellence in Medicine Awards®--created in 1939--honors exemplary New Jersey physicians whose dedication to education, research, and public service have significantly impacted the delivery of health care state- and nationwide. Since 2003, the annual awards have been sponsored by the MDAdvantage Insurance Company of New Jersey.

In addition to the honors listed above, recognition is also given in the following categories: Outstanding Medical Executive Award, Edward J. Ill Physician's Award®, Verice M. Mason Community Service Leader Award, and the Peter W. Rodino Jr. Citizen's Award®. This year's awards will be presented during a May 1 ceremony at Greenacres Country Club in Lawrenceville.

Source: Robert Wood Johnson Medical School faculty 


The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of News Medical.
Post a new comment
You might also like...
Researchers explore failed SARS-CoV-2 screening at hospital entrances