Two Protein Science authors selected as winners of 2015 Best Paper Awards

The Protein Society, an international, trans-disciplinary community of scientists dedicated to protein research, announces the third annual selection of two Protein Science authors as winners of the 2015 Best Paper Awards. The winners will be acknowledged at the 29th Annual Symposium of The Protein Society (July 22-25, 2015, Barcelona, Spain). Awarded annually to the first authors--typically the researcher who contributed the most work to a given experiment--of papers published during the preceding year in the Protein Society's prestigious academic journal Protein Science, the Best Paper Awards include a complimentary 1-year Protein Society membership, complimentary registration and travel reimbursement for the annual meeting, and an opportunity for the selected junior investigators to present talks as part of the main scientific program. The 2015 Protein Science Best Paper Award winning authors and their articles are:

Chih-Chia (Jack) Su
Assistant Scientist, Biological Systems
Department of Chemistry at Iowa State University

Winning Paper: Chih-Chia Su, Abhijith Radhakrishnan, Nitin Kumar, Feng Long, Jani Reddy Bolla, Hsiang-Ting Lei, Jared A. Delmar, Sylvia V. Do, Tsung-Han Chou, Kanagalaghatta R. Rajashankar, Qijing Zhang, Edward W. Yu (2014) Crystal structure of the Campylobacter jejuni CmeC outer membrane channel. Protein Sci. 23:954-961

Minttu Virkki
Graduate Student
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Stockholm University

Winning Paper: Minttu Virkki, Nitin Agrawal, Elin Edsbacker, Susana Cristobal, Arne Elofsson, Anni Kauko (2014) Folding of aquaporin 1: Multiple evidence that helix 3 can shift out of the membrane core. Protein Sci. 23:981-992


The Protein Society


The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of News Medical.
Post a new comment
You might also like...
UArizona researchers discover new protein that is responsible for controlling cell growth in yeasts